“WEST”

by alyssa bozekowski

INSPIRED 

“From my childhood on the frontier I got the soul of an adventurer, and I spent the rest of my life finding ways to move inot new directions.”- writer Phyllis Luman Metal, ” I Carry the Ranch Inside Me” 1997

CALM

“That was my country – terrible winds and a  wonderful emptiness” – artist Georgia O’Keeffe, 1997

PHILOSOPHICAL

“I hope we can spend the rest of our days here, and when we die they can plant us right here on the ranch and plant wildflowers on top of our graves and let the cattle, elk, deer, and wild turkeys feed over us. Good enough for me.” – writer Janeen Jackson, “Country Seedling” 1997

CYNICAL

“All winter I’d been reading of the great wagon parties that held council there before hitting the Oregon and Santa Fe trails; and of course now it was only cute suburban cottages of one damn kind and another, all laid out in the dismal gray dawn.” – writer Jack Kerouac, On The Road, 1957

HAPPY

“The West is where Nature is apt to be a mite exaggerated.” – Ken Alstad, Savvy Sayin’s, 1986

PROUD

“Through all my sufferings in crossing the plains, the faith and hope that I had strengthened in proportion to the trials I encountered.” – unknown pioneer, 1800’s

