Twins I

by alyssa bozekowski

A continuation of a project I have been working on since about 2007, photographing the relationship I have with my own identical twin sister, I have come across some interesting bodies of work cultivating ideas on the same subject matter. The body of work I love the most has been from Maja Daniels, a Swedish independent photographer currently based in London, UK. I found her work through this Feature Shoot article. What I found even more astonishing and intriguing was that they dress identical every day and was not Maja’s request:

Monette and Mady are identical twins. They have lived their whole life closely together and are, as they say, inseparable. I used to see them on the streets near my house now and then but mainly on Sundays at our local fruit and vegetable market. I was instantly fascinated by their identical outfits and synchronized corporal language. When I finally approached them I was not surprised to discover that they often finish each other’s sentences and that they refer to themselves as ‘I’ instead of ‘we ‘.

See more of Maja Daniel’s work here

Monette & Mady

 

 

 

 

