Ray Bozekowski

by alyssa bozekowski

 
 

My grandpa Ray passed away Thursday, October 11, 2012.

RAY_PORTRAIT RAY_MILITARY Ray&Janette

Ray was born on July 7, 1932 in Grafton, ND, the son of John and Natalie (Stoltman) Bozekowski. He was reared on the family farm near Warsaw, ND. Ray attended school in Warsaw and Minto, graduating from Minto in 1950. He Received an honorable discharge for his service in the Korean War Conflict from 1953 to 1955. Ray and Jeanette Horejsi were married on Septemeber 6, 1955 at St. John’s Catholic Church in Grafton, ND. He worked for Bridgman Creameries in Grafton and East Grand Forks, MN. In 1967, he began working for Cloverdale Foods in Mandan as a sales supervisor and later with Western Dairies in Dickinson. He was also a custodian at Dickinson High School for twelve years, before early retirement because of a disability. Ray enjoyed spending time with his family, reading and playing pinochle.

I remember my grandfather being a man that loved unconditionally, hard work was valued, and most importantly took care and loved his family with all his heart. I will remember the way my grandpa loved my grandmother. I will remember how he always offered to help, never having you to lift a finger. I will remember the way he always offered me a soda or a mineral water, always. I will remember him napping in that blue, velvet recliner. I will remember the way he smiled. I will remember that he always took care of everyone; Janette, my father, his grand kids with unwavering enthusiasm and pride. Most of all I will remember my grandfather through the vision of my family, for he raised a loving and generous family that truly supports and loves each other.  I am the luckiest granddaughter to have had such a wonderful man who loved & taught me so much about life.

EDITimg906   EDITimg895 EDITimg896    EDITimg900 EDITimg944    EDITimg903 EDITimg904    EDITimg964 EDITimg958    EDITimg954 EDITimg956    EDITimg934 EDITimg965     EDITimg963 img965     EDITimg935

AMB_3849 AMB_3853 AMB_3835 AMB_3865 AMB_3871 AMB_3872 AMB_3896 AMB_3914 AMB_3917 AMB_3918 AMB_3920 AMB_3931 AMB_3937 
 
 
Death is Nothing at All
 
 

Death is nothing at all.
I have only slipped away to the next room.
I am I and you are you.
Whatever we were to each other,
That, we still are.

Call me by my old familiar name.
Speak to me in the easy way
which you always used.
Put no difference into your tone.
Wear no forced air of solemnity or sorrow.

Laugh as we always laughed
at the little jokes we enjoyed together.
Play, smile, think of me. Pray for me.
Let my name be ever the household word
that it always was.
Let it be spoken without effect.
Without the trace of a shadow on it.

Life means all that it ever meant.
It is the same that it ever was.
There is absolute unbroken continuity.
Why should I be out of mind
because I am out of sight?

I am but waiting for you.
For an interval.
Somewhere. Very near.
Just around the corner.

All is well.

Henry Scott Holland